Month: January 2017

Kossuth Square and Big Reformed Church

The square and the church have always been the scene, oftentimes the very center, of important events through our history. The church was the hub of the Reformation movement in Hungary. Not only is it size that is testament to its greatness. The sound of 

Debrecen

Debrecen with its almost 205 thousand inhabitants is the second largest city in Hungary, and the city 220 kilometres far from Budapest has a rich history more than 6 centuries long. It is not only the cultural and scientific centre of the region, but also 

The Móra Ferenc Museum

Móra Ferenc Múzeum

The Móra Ferenc Museum  is a museum in Szeged, Hungary, at the intersection of the bank of the river Tisza and the Downtown Bridge. In addition to its seasonal exhibitions, research is conducted within the walls of the cultural palace in the fields of archaeology, ethnography, history and natural science.
The museum was founded in 1883 and the neoclassical building was opened in 1896. The institute was renamed in the honor of its former Director, Móra Ferenc in 1950.

The creations of Victor Vasarely and Tivadar Csontváry Kosztka have already been shown between the walls of the Móra Ferenc Museum, and in 2012, an exhibition featuring works by Mihály Munkácsy became the museum’s then most successful seasonal exhibition, exceeded in 2014 by the exhibition titled “Pharaohs’ Egypt” that attracted more than 114,000 visitors by year’s end.

Pharaohs’ Egypt

Collections of the museum

The Móra Ferenc Memorial Room represents the former Director as one of the more outstanding figures of national literature, as well as an archeologist and researcher. In addition to his personal items and furniture, visitors can see special photos in the exhibition room upstairs.

The exhibition of natural sciences, titled “We only have one Earth” presents us with Earth’s history from its beginning to the modern age: Visitors can simulate travelling millions of years into the past with the help of installations, several millions of years old fossils, and a 3D animation of a cave bear.

The ethnological exhibition is titled “The Famous Town of Szeged”. Its featured topics are: Tisza-related activities, its best-known craft of making slippers and knives, bullrush weaving, the peculiarities of folk architecture. The folk life of the Szeged-area is illustrated using interactive, audiovisual equipment, in addition to the photo and audio material on various screens.

Galery

The mora ferenc museum’s spectacle of gold collection is also open to the public and presents an approximately 10 kg of unique and highly valuable treasure. In the unconventionally lit room visitors can view one of the biggest and more significant gold treasures of the Huns, the gold artefacts of Nagyszéksos, which were excavated by Ferenc Mora. The collection also features valuable red gold, memorial coins and particular household objects, such as the golden pen of Istvan Tomorkény (former director of the museum, writer, publicist) or a tie pin bearing Lajos Kossuth’s engraved portrait.

Synagogue

The Szeged Synagogue is a synagogue in Szeged, Hungary. It is a 1907 building designed by the Jewish Hungarian architect Lipót Baumhorn (1860–1932,), whose work is considered to contain the finest examples of the unique fin de siecle Hungarian blending of Art Nouveau and Historicist 

The Votive Church

The Votive Church and Cathedral of Our Lady of Hungary is a twin-spired church in Szeged. It lies on Dóm square beside the Dömötör tower. Construction began in 1913, but due to the outbreak of the First World War, it was not completed until 1930. 

Szeged

Szeged

Szeged, the county town of Csongrád County, is in the centre of the South Alföld (Southern Great Plain) Region and will, together with Pécs. It is the largest town in south-eastern Hungary, with 163 thousand inhabitants, and is situated at the confluence of the rivers Tisza and Maros.

Szeged is situated near the southern border of Hungary , just to the south of the mouth of the Maros River, on both banks of the Tisza River. A large part of the town lies on the right bank, while Ujszeged (New Szeged), a suburban district of residential housing and parks, is on the left bank of the river. Szeged is the cultural and economic center of South-Eastern Hungary, and a thriving university town, also famous for its open-air theater. The city center is marked by the medieval Tower of St. Demetrius and the stately twin spires of the Votive Church. This cathedral was built in the first decades of our century to commemorate the revival of the city after the devastating flood of the river Tisza in 1879.

By Hungarian standards, Szeged is a large city, with a population of 177,000. The climate is very favorable; the mean temperature is about 52 oF, somewhat higher than in the rest of the country. Szeged is sometimes called the City of Sunshine as there are an average 2,000 hours of sunshine annually.

The historical overview

The area of Szeged has been inhabited since Roman times . During the period of the Great Migration, the fifth through the ninth centuries, it was a meeting place for various tribes. Because of this, the region is abundant in valuable archeological sites. The settlement was given the rank of free royal town in 1246; it was an important monastic center in the later Middle Ages, witness to this is the beautiful Gothic Franciscan church and monastery, founded under King Matthias in the 1470s. During the 16th and 17th centuries the city suffered Turkish occupation and served as an administrative center for the Ottomans. In 1719 the town regained its free royal rights and in 1721 a famous grammar school was established here. In the Reform Period, begun in 1825 and associated with Istvan Szechenyi and Lajos Kossuth, the development of the town accelerated. Industrial works and banks sprang up, and, at the same time, the ever improving highway and railway systems of the country reached Szeged.

Castle Ruins-Szeged

In the War of Independence of 1848-9 Szeged played a prominent part. The famous recruiting speech of Lajos Kossuth was delivered here in the Fall of 1848. Szeged was the seat of the last Revolutionary Government in July 1849.

In the second half of the 19th century citizens of the town and surrounding area made efforts to populate the steppe-like region, to make agriculture thrive and to develop areas within the town itself. The huge flood of 1879, mentioned earlier, turned out to be a blessing in disguise. Although only 300 houses of the total 6000 of the city survived, the reconstruction that followed – with the help of Vienna, Paris, London, and other European cities – created a modern city with an exemplary layout of avenues and boulevards with a strikingly homogenous architecture that preserves the Eclecticism and Art Nouveau of the turn of the century. The economic and cultural importance of Szeged greatly increased after the flood in the developing period of Hungarian capitalism which is associated with the period of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy.

Szeged has retained its importance during the period between the two world wars, and later on too, up until today. The city is not only a county seat but the natural economic and cultural center of a larger region reaching across the neighboring Yugoslavian and Rumanian borders. Local industry is reputed for food production, especially salami and paprika (the Pride of Szeged paprika is a common brand in American supermarkets, too). Textiles, oil and natural gas processing, clothing production are also significant, but the city is most famous for its culture, including its various institutions of higher education. Representative schools are the Attila Jozsef University, the Albert Szent- Gyorgyi Medical University, the Gyula Juhasz Teacher Training College, the Ferenc Liszt College of Music, the College of Catholic Theology, and the College of Food Technology and Engineering. Because of the specific structure of university education in Hungary, these institutions do not individually have as many students as average Western European, or American universities. Yet, the total student population of ten to twelve thousand fills the streets and squares of the inner city. As an American travel-guide once noted: “Attila Jozsef University’s campus at Dugonics ter [square] is always swirming with students – time and season don’t seem to make any difference. Speak English loudly, read Newsweek conspicuously, or simply look incredibly lost – chances are you’ll make a friend or friends, or possibly find yourself a spot to sleep on somebody’s floor.”

In spite of the fact that Szeged has the atmosphere of a quiet college town, the city is surprisingly cosmopolitan. The UNESCO-sponsored international Center for Biological Research of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, as well as the other institutions of higher education, host a great number of foreign scholars and students. The local opera is second in reputation only to the one in Budapest. Theaters, cinemas, clubs, riversides, parks, swimming pools and sports grounds provide plenty of possibilities for recreation. During the summers the open air theater in front of the Cathedral attracts over 4000 spectators each night to special opera and musical performances. Adjacent to these performances folkfestivals, exhibitions, sports events (including speedboat races and regattas on the world class rowing course) and the hospitable swimming pools and beaches make Szeged a desired holiday spot.

Harkány

Harkány  is a town in Baranya county, Transdanubia . 25km south of Pécs, famous spa town in the foothills of the Villány Mountains. Harkány has been welcoming those wishing to relax and to be healed since 1824. It has 3400 residents, but it has far 

Mohács

Mohács  is a town in Baranya county, Hungary on the right bank of the Danube. In the past, the small Danube harbor town of Mohács twice was the place for decisive events in Hungarian and European history: 1526 and 1687. While tiny little city of 

The Donauturm

Danube Tower in Donaupark

The Donauturm was constructed during 1962–1964, as designed by architect Hannes Lintl, in preparation for the Viennese International Horticultural Show 1964. The tower stands at 252 metres  in height. Groundbreaking took place on 12 October 1962. After approximately 18 months of construction, under the supervision of Eberhard Födisch, the tower was officially opened on 16 April 1964 by Federal President Adolf Schärf.

Since then, it has become a part of the Viennese skyline and has become a popular lookout point and a tourist attraction. It is situated in the middle of the Donaupark, which was built to host the horticultural fair in Vienna’s 22nd District, Donaustadt, near the northern bank of the Danube.

Donauturm Café

Two high-speed elevators transport passengers to the tower’s viewing platform at 150 metres . Each lift, carrying up to 14 passengers, takes only 35 seconds to reach the observation platform. In strong winds, the elevators travel at only half speed because of the possible fluctuation of the tower: the movement of the elevator cable could be dangerous. By walking about 779 steps (775, according to architects Lintl), the platform can also be reached on foot. The stairs are, however, usually only accessible during the annual Donauturm run, or in an emergency.

Panoramic Cityscape of Vienna and the New Danube river, viewed from the Donauturm

The Donauturm spire carries antennas of cellular phone networks, private VHF radio stations and several other radio communication services. Despite its similarity to TV towers elsewhere, it has not been used for TV broadcasting. The major TV transmitter for the Vienna area is situated on Kahlenberg hill.

Donauturm Restaurant

Two revolving restaurants (at a height of 161.2 and 169.4 metres, or 529 and 556 ft) offer a varied view over the Austrian capital and the Danube River below. It takes the platform either 26, 39 or 52 minutes to complete a full revolution. The restaurants were originally largely identical; however, now the top is an “upscale” restaurant (named “Donauwalzer”) and the lower restaurant is a café (named “Panorama”). Even so, the menu and prices continue to differ little.

bungee jumping donauturm

The observation deck also bears a bungee-jumping site, with a platform projecting from the area. It is used at times during the summer months.

Maria Theresien Platz

The monument to Empress Maria Theresa is one of the most impressive in all Vienna and dominates the square named after her. Flanked by the Museum of Art History (Kunsthistorisches Museum) and the Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum), the statue was commissioned by Franz Joseph